As your banking needs and accounts change, you may find that you have a number of accounts that are listed in Brief Accounting, but in practice are old accounts no longer in use.
Once postings have been made to any account, the account cannot be deleted. However, these accounts may be hidden from view on accounts lists throughout the application. To hide an account that is no longer in use:
Bank module > Account tab > Type in "g" in the No. field and hit the tab key to view a list of all General accounts.
Select the account you wish to hide.
Select the "Hide from Account Lists" check box and click Accept:
The account will no longer be displayed on lists when taking receipts and entering checks.
NOTE: The account will still be accessible in both the Bank and Bank Rec modules.