Reverse an A/R invoice


Once an invoice has been posted to the General Ledger, it cannot be deleted or edited. It can be reversed. Reversing an invoice creates a counter transaction to back out the original invoice posting.

To reverse an invoice:

Select the A/R module > Statement tab and for the matter in question.
Double-click the invoice you want to reverse to view the detail.
From the menu bar along the top of your screen, select the "Special" option then select Reverse Transaction.
Click Reverse
Enter the reversal date (in general use the original posting date)
Enter a reason
Click OK

NOTE: Any slips that were on the invoice are automatically moved back to Billable so they can be amended/deleted before reposting the invoice.

NOTE: If the invoice to reverse isn't Outstanding and it has already been cleared to Paid, the invoice must be uncleared from Paid before it is reversed. It is important to unclear both the invoice and any payments that were applied to it so they are both moved back to outstanding.

A reversal does not delete the transaction. It creates a counter-transaction. This ensures an audit trail for all transactions. 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk