FAQ: Why is the "File No" red in the Client module?
This means the matter is marked as Closed. Being marked as closed, it has been removed from Brief EnCounter so no new time could be entered on it.
Once a matter is closed, the file will be included on timekeeper and billing reports. Also, a closed file can carry an A/R balance. For example, if you close a file because you don't want new time entered on it, it can still show with a balance owing in A/R. You can view a closed file's already billed time in the Billing module by: checking off "Include Closed Files" on the "Find Files dialog box", pulling up the matter per usual and clicking the "Billed" side-tab.